EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Intel Specific > Intel Processors
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-01-2010, 12:40 PM   #1
hquar
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Last Seen: 11-14-2010
Pentium M overclocking help

Hi guys trying to overclock my pentium M motherboard.

cant get into bios advance changes it is kept as read only (and i dont know how to flash a bios either.)

anyone up for the challange.

Any type of help is much appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Over clock this.JPG
Views:	73
Size:	152.9 KB
ID:	153191  
India  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-01-2010, 01:56 PM   #2
kscott190
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 252
Last Seen: 07-16-2013
Age: 31
From: Columbus, OH
iTrader: 0 / 0%
BIOS is locked as with all pre-assembled PCs
Besides it's not worth it to overclock a laptop because of heat issues and the lack of the airflow
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-01-2010, 04:36 PM   #3
hquar
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Last Seen: 11-14-2010
the real question here is can it be done ?
India  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-01-2010, 05:12 PM   #4
DarkTower87
Tension Tour 2013
DarkTower87's Avatar
Moderator
 
Posts: 2,006
Last Seen: 07-10-2014
Age: 26
From: Florida
iTrader: 22 / 100%
You could try a pin mod if its available for your CPU and mobo. Idk if it will work though. Google pin modding.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-03-2010, 03:59 PM   #5
hquar
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Last Seen: 11-14-2010
darktower, i tried that a while ago but if you check my motherboard, it just doent handle that kind of power, upgrading motherboard is a good option, but since i dont know which one to put in any suggestions for upgrading my motherboard or cpu will be really helpfull. better yet my socket is sis 661fx whats the max i can go on the cpu upgrade, i have the list but need help understanding the pentium m series.

probably a dumb question by while i was pin modding i realized they were trying to pin on a higer socket, like the pm725 with the 513 socket, since the motherboard upgrade wouldnt help me in anyway, i'm wondering if i can downgrade the cpu to a Piv and then oc it to 2 gz would this be possible on my motherboard ?

2 different stratergies but 1 advice is all i can think of....please feel free to clear my doubts.
India  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-04-2010, 04:52 AM   #6
RazerMamba
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 296
Last Seen: 05-07-2014
Age: 20
From: Maryland
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Why would you want to downgrade then overclock? It's not worth it even if you do manage to overclock. You might as well get a new computer as Pentiums are pretty old. But it's whatever floats your boat...
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-04-2010, 09:29 AM   #7
pheonix991
Hehe
pheonix991's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,585
Last Seen: Today
Age: 24
From: The Ghetto, AR
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Get a new computer instead of swapping cpus.

Try this and get back to us if you REALLY want to oc.
PIN MOD
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-04-2010, 04:35 PM   #8
hquar
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Last Seen: 11-14-2010
hey pheonix thanks for the pin mod link, no offence bro but as i said in the previos comment i've already tried the pin mod, doesnt work on my 499 mhz, needs a 533 mhz for my 725 to work on it. bro.....but whatever....taking the suggestion of buying a new onw, thats but obvious, but what should i do with this bumb thing.... it wont even go for 10$'s in the market...ah a hhah a a mightas well find a upgrade fsb and upgrade from stock, isnt that the whole idea how overclocking started, make full use of it, i can build a grid computer with this, but i doubt it would give an out put considering the fsb sucks....aha ha hah so anyother suggestions,
btw whats a good am3 motherboard that would work with both the x4 and the x6 chips ? this is of the topic.
going back to the topic @razermamba the downgrade and oc was just a hunch, i'm not sure it will work, i'm asking expert advice....i cant jump the throtle since the Moth is locked. ha ha hah a any clues on how to unlock old moth's like mine.
India  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2010, 12:59 AM   #9
RazerMamba
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 296
Last Seen: 05-07-2014
Age: 20
From: Maryland
iTrader: 2 / 100%
It's not a desktop. High overclocking was never meant for laptops. Laptops heat up FAST so they aren't exactly effective at cooling. Even Desktops hit high heat which is why people water cool.

You can see that people have actually attempted to do so on a laptop, but failed in the mobility area as he had to be plugged into a wall and his battery was fried when he tried to run the system:
http://www.overclock.net/water-cooli...ed-laptop.html

I'm not saying it's not possible, as it definitely is, but it's not practical. Also, not many people still run Pentiums on their main computers and overclock them. Most people overclock old processors for the giggles, but not much more than that.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2010, 04:11 AM   #10
hquar
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Last Seen: 11-14-2010
I don't want to hit 4gz from my 1.6gz i just want to increase a little near 2 gz, nothing much.

if nothing atleast help me unlock my motherboard bios advance setting ?
India  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2010, 12:45 PM   #11
pheonix991
Hehe
pheonix991's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,585
Last Seen: Today
Age: 24
From: The Ghetto, AR
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by hquar View Post
I don't want to hit 4gz from my 1.6gz i just want to increase a little near 2 gz, nothing much.

if nothing atleast help me unlock my motherboard bios advance setting ?
Unless you can find a hacked bios, you're SOL.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2010, 01:05 PM   #12
DarkTower87
Tension Tour 2013
DarkTower87's Avatar
Moderator
 
Posts: 2,006
Last Seen: 07-10-2014
Age: 26
From: Florida
iTrader: 22 / 100%
You may be able to find a 2ghz Pentium M on Ebay for around $10. That would be your best bet.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-06-2010, 12:08 AM   #13
RazerMamba
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 296
Last Seen: 05-07-2014
Age: 20
From: Maryland
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by hquar View Post
I don't want to hit 4gz from my 1.6gz i just want to increase a little near 2 gz, nothing much.

if nothing atleast help me unlock my motherboard bios advance setting ?
You do know that you won't see that big of an increase if you bump a few MHz right?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-06-2010, 08:55 AM   #14
DarkTower87
Tension Tour 2013
DarkTower87's Avatar
Moderator
 
Posts: 2,006
Last Seen: 07-10-2014
Age: 26
From: Florida
iTrader: 22 / 100%
Yeah but from 1.6ghz - 2ghz is a good bump in performance when you consider the CPU he has. Thats a 25% increase. Pretty big difference.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-06-2010, 12:14 PM   #15
pheonix991
Hehe
pheonix991's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,585
Last Seen: Today
Age: 24
From: The Ghetto, AR
iTrader: 6 / 100%
That dathon scales amazingly well as far as performance goes, so, even a 200mhz difference, you'll be able to feel it.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-06-2010, 03:44 PM   #16
hquar
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Last Seen: 11-14-2010
u guys do know that too much of suggestions is just confusing me more. Whats a hacked bios ? I have a phoenix first bios pro 6.0 does that mean anything to u i'll add my lap schematics tomorrow. Via link. See whats u guys can dig from it.
India  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-06-2010, 03:52 PM   #17
pheonix991
Hehe
pheonix991's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,585
Last Seen: Today
Age: 24
From: The Ghetto, AR
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Nobody knows how to oc your laptop.

A hacked bios is one where someone has modded to include oc options.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-06-2010, 11:25 PM   #18
RazerMamba
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 296
Last Seen: 05-07-2014
Age: 20
From: Maryland
iTrader: 2 / 100%
A hacked bios is where you flash either a different bios or a self made bios onto your motherboard, replacing the old one. If the bios is flashed badly, or the bios is bad, you can brick your motherboard.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-06-2010, 11:47 PM   #19
OptyTrooper
Banned!
Banned
Don't ask why unless you want to join them.
Try SetFSB (the version linked is freeware) or ClockGen.

Select different PLL's until you find one that hopefully works and proceed to overclock.

Better yet give up and buy parts to build your own rig if you want too overclock.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-07-2010, 02:15 AM   #20
hquar
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Last Seen: 11-14-2010
@optyTrooper : whats pll's ?
@razermamba : Is there a HOW TO on a self made bios ?
@PHEONIX991 : YOUR NOT HELPING FIND ANOTHER POST TO DISCOURAGE PEOPLE

LINK FOR MY CHEMATICS
http://notebookschematic.com/wp-cont...0/09/M360s.png

BIOS DATA
THIS IS ALL I COULD RIG OUT OF MY BIOS DATA.

Phoenix cME FirstBIOS Notebook Pro
Copyright 1985-2003 Phoenix Technologies Ltd.
All Rights Reserved
Build Time: 12/17/04 17:30:43
SiS661MX A1(FirstBIOS)
M3 Series-R1.00.D8C
KBC Ver:1.00.D1
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor 1.40GHz
639K System RAM Passed
989M Extended RAM Passed
1024K Cache SRAM Passed
System BIOS shadowed
Fixed Disk 0: TOSHIBA MK3018GAP
ATAPI CD-ROM: QSI DVD-ROM SDR-083
Mouse intialized

WHAT ROM FILE SHOULD I BE SEARCHING FOR ?
India  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:00 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking