EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Off Topic / General Chat (No Post Increase) > Games, Games, Games...
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2011, 11:25 PM   #1
Blackops_2
I was Born Ready
Blackops_2's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,764
Last Seen: Today
Age: 23
From: Mississippi
iTrader: 1 / 100%
GTA IV iCEnhancer 1.3

http://www.gta4-mods.com/misc/icenha...hic-mod-f10005

I never beat GTA IV so who needs V

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uK0iCuGJhFQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykl3WHeuhBM

I know some have heard of this but figured i'd start a thread. Get it working then see what it's going to take to achieve the images above. At 1920x1080 i imagine i'll need to pick up another 470 to even get near max. Anyone got any performance numbers?

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1976640

Last edited by Blackops_2 : 11-03-2011 at 04:05 PM. Reason: Added link to downgrade to 1.04 patch for steam versions
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-03-2011, 09:25 AM   #2
Scooter
Overclocker
Scooter's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 416
Last Seen: 07-12-2014
Age: 24
From: Texas
iTrader: 3 / 100%
I would make sure that 1.3 work with the latest patch(1.0.7.0) otherwise you might have to drop to the one before.

Anyway I have debated trying the ICEnhancer mod but after throwing in beter(thats intentional) city textures and visualIV and a handful of other mods. It looks great already to me tho ICEnhancer is going up and beyond.

My mod list:
Beter City Textures
Visual IV
More Liberty(more peds/cars)
Realistic Driving&Flying
Speedometer
Abandoned Car Mod
Traffic Flow
Weapon Realism v1.1
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-03-2011, 10:51 AM   #3
AdamV
Green Machine
AdamV's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 296
Last Seen: 03-26-2014
iTrader: 0 / 0%
How difficult was it to add the texture packs and ICEnhancer mod?
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-03-2011, 11:46 AM   #4
SSPrncVegeta
Speak softly
SSPrncVegeta's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,103
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 28
From: Northern Va
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Drop the files in the folder, overwrite old ones. Backup old ones first.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-03-2011, 04:06 PM   #5
Scooter
Overclocker
Scooter's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 416
Last Seen: 07-12-2014
Age: 24
From: Texas
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSPrncVegeta View Post
Drop the files in the folder, overwrite old ones. Backup old ones first.
Pretty much
Oh i forgot one last mod which is more a backbone for other things.
Xliveless ( some mods require an ASI loader and this comes with one built in)
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-04-2011, 01:15 PM   #6
Blackops_2
I was Born Ready
Blackops_2's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,764
Last Seen: Today
Age: 23
From: Mississippi
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooter View Post
I would make sure that 1.3 work with the latest patch(1.0.7.0) otherwise you might have to drop to the one before.

Anyway I have debated trying the ICEnhancer mod but after throwing in beter(thats intentional) city textures and visualIV and a handful of other mods. It looks great already to me tho ICEnhancer is going up and beyond.

My mod list:
Beter City Textures
Visual IV
More Liberty(more peds/cars)
Realistic Driving&Flying
Speedometer
Abandoned Car Mod
Traffic Flow
Weapon Realism v1.1
Yeah i downgraded to 1.0.4 following the steam link i just edited in above. Messed up the directories and forgot what went where so i just decided to reinstall. Applying the mod according to the readme files seems extremely easy as Vegeta pointed out. Where as Doom 3 took a bit more moving this and that and enabled stuff in CFG files etc. Still haven't got Pom, relief mapping, etc to work on Doom 3. That being said still looks good

Wondering if i need to get a new GPU though. I'm building a new rig christmas so it's coming regardless.

Additional Comment:

1.35 works with 1.0.7 i've already reverted back to 1.0.4 got it working. Dark/bright levels are kinda extreme. And then the filmgrain/color parm seems to be rather high going to see if i can tweak it a little.

Additional Comment:

Jesus this mod!

Last edited by Blackops_2 : 11-04-2011 at 01:15 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2011, 01:32 PM   #7
Scooter
Overclocker
Scooter's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 416
Last Seen: 07-12-2014
Age: 24
From: Texas
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Nice
Dont know if you have the VRam for it but you might wanna check out the car mod that I believe goes with Realistic Driving&Flying. It replaces alot of the stock cars with something more hi res. I liked it but with only my 512MB, I had awful texture pop-in.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2011, 01:41 PM   #8
Blackops_2
I was Born Ready
Blackops_2's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,764
Last Seen: Today
Age: 23
From: Mississippi
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooter View Post
Nice
Dont know if you have the VRam for it but you might wanna check out the car mod that I believe goes with Realistic Driving&Flying. It replaces alot of the stock cars with something more hi res. I liked it but with only my 512MB, I had awful texture pop-in.
Thats not my screen above

I had 1.35 running but it didn't look near as good as everyone's videos. I guess because i need to add HD textures for tree's and streets? IDK just didn't look the same as per say this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HVvvP...el_video_title
It looked like a lot of film grain and color parm was used which i would like to decrease.

But i tried to add in a Corvette Z06 and got a failure to launch. Suppose i did something wrong. So i had my files backed up and then proceed to restore them and re apply the mod. Well never could get the mod working again. So now i'm starting from scratch again. 1.35 works with 1.0.7. according ti Iceglace's blog, so i might try it that way. But i wanna achieve that spectacular image.

I also wonder about the settings. Are the settings ingame in collaboration with the profiles in the mod? Like medium, high, destroy PC etc? or do i need to configure settings straight from the files? It's a little different than the doom mod i use, which has the mod settings menus at your disposal right there in game.

Also is it just me or is GTA IV clunky on M/KB?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2011, 02:13 PM   #9
CybrSlydr
Special Fish?
CybrSlydr's Avatar
Moderator
 
Posts: 1,665
Last Seen: Today
Age: 30
From: Columbus, OH
iTrader: 5 / 100%
The driving is, but the walking around/shooting is far superior with kb/m.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2011, 02:40 PM   #10
SSPrncVegeta
Speak softly
SSPrncVegeta's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,103
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 28
From: Northern Va
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by CybrSlydr View Post
The driving is, but the walking around/shooting is far superior with kb/m.
You do a lot of shooting while driving, which makes the kb/m better for that too.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2011, 06:51 PM   #11
Blackops_2
I was Born Ready
Blackops_2's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,764
Last Seen: Today
Age: 23
From: Mississippi
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Just reinstalled and it's crashing on fresh install IDK whats going on. Proceeded to patch it to 1.0.4.0 and still can't make it into game.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2011, 06:55 PM   #12
SSPrncVegeta
Speak softly
SSPrncVegeta's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,103
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 28
From: Northern Va
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Uninstalling only removes installed files, so all the mods you put in the folder are still there.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2011, 07:00 PM   #13
Blackops_2
I was Born Ready
Blackops_2's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,764
Last Seen: Today
Age: 23
From: Mississippi
iTrader: 1 / 100%
So solution would be to just delete everything in GTAIV folder and redownload? I have no way of restoring some original files because i forgot to back up them up.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2011, 07:42 PM   #14
SSPrncVegeta
Speak softly
SSPrncVegeta's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,103
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 28
From: Northern Va
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Reinstalling should've overwritten any replaced files, but some mod that remains is messing with the game. Uninstall, delete folder, reinstall.

I recommend having a backup of the entire GTAIV folder, if you have 20GB to spare.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-05-2011, 08:00 PM   #15
Blackops_2
I was Born Ready
Blackops_2's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,764
Last Seen: Today
Age: 23
From: Mississippi
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSPrncVegeta View Post
Reinstalling should've overwritten any replaced files, but some mod that remains is messing with the game. Uninstall, delete folder, reinstall.

I recommend having a backup of the entire GTAIV folder, if you have 20GB to spare.
I am this time around. Redownloading the game again this time might try H1VItg3I's 1.3 pack see how it works. I take it with no mod menu in game tweaking setting is up to me eh?

Last edited by Blackops_2 : 11-05-2011 at 08:23 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-06-2011, 12:39 AM   #16
Scooter
Overclocker
Scooter's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 416
Last Seen: 07-12-2014
Age: 24
From: Texas
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
I am this time around. Redownloading the game again this time might try H1VItg3I's 1.3 pack see how it works. I take it with no mod menu in game tweaking setting is up to me eh?
Different modders have individual flavors of ICEnhancer.
I believe you can tweak Icehancer through an .ini file but you can set basic graphics ingame. Some like to find the config file to get more precise settings. Up to your preference really.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-06-2011, 03:19 PM   #17
Blackops_2
I was Born Ready
Blackops_2's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,764
Last Seen: Today
Age: 23
From: Mississippi
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Is there no way to take cover on PC?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-06-2011, 04:12 PM   #18
SSPrncVegeta
Speak softly
SSPrncVegeta's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,103
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 28
From: Northern Va
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
Is there no way to take cover on PC?
There is. I think default button is G.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-06-2011, 06:01 PM   #19
Blackops_2
I was Born Ready
Blackops_2's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,764
Last Seen: Today
Age: 23
From: Mississippi
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Ah must've missed it in the bindings.

Making progress

Still got some settings to adjust to get it to look like i want but we're getting there. Still have to add HR road textures also.

Anyone know how to install DKT70 HR texture pack? All it is, is a gtxd.img file with not readme text so i'm not sure where to go with it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-11-06_00002.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	349.1 KB
ID:	160924  Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-11-06_00003.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	369.4 KB
ID:	160925  Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-11-06_00004.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	357.0 KB
ID:	160926  Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-11-06_00005.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	406.3 KB
ID:	160927  

Last edited by Blackops_2 : 11-06-2011 at 10:08 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-06-2011, 10:47 PM   #20
Scooter
Overclocker
Scooter's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 416
Last Seen: 07-12-2014
Age: 24
From: Texas
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
Ah must've missed it in the bindings.

Making progress

Still got some settings to adjust to get it to look like i want but we're getting there. Still have to add HR road textures also.

Anyone know how to install DKT70 HR texture pack? All it is, is a gtxd.img file with not readme text so i'm not sure where to go with it.
Ah since its just road textures, its just the single cd image. Im used to Better City which contain road and also map replacements. just backup the previous gtxd.img to somewhere and overwrite with the new one.

/Rockstar Games/Grand Theft Auto IV/pc/data/cdimages/gtxd.img
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:07 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking