EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > General CPU Cooling > Thermal Electric Cooling - (TECs / Peltiers)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2012, 07:00 PM   #1
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,264
iTrader: 63 / 100%
s939 Tec adventure.

Opteron 146 @3400mhz via Thermal Electric Cooling TEC# 12715 136w cooling capacity.

Specs: s939 DFI LanParty Ultra D
Opty 146 90nm
x1800xt 256mb
Crucial Ballistix Tracer LED DDR500
650w PSU for rig
600w PSU for TEC.

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2434916
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	812458.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	82.9 KB
ID:	163784   Click image for larger version

Name:	812459.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	163785  
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 07:52 PM   #2
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Senior Member
 
Mr.Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Spencerport N.Y.
Age: 54
Posts: 12,460
iTrader: 67 / 100%
More info bro.
Temps?, and how is the cooling on the hot side holding up?
__________________
Offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 08:58 PM   #3
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,264
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Oh yea! Forgot.

Temps where idle at 9c and loaded at 3200mhz hit 33c as a max. AMbient temps are controlled by the Chicago weather. So it did prevent freezing which is ok because I didn't want frozen. AMbient was 85-95f during the after noon shade-sun.

I applied the peltier at a 3300mhz wall. Got me an extra 100mhz

Even though the TEC was not properly powered, It worked well cause' I used a heavy lamp cord to run the available current.

I'm also trying to design a little Ram chiller. The only problem is that these particular TEC's are so hot, they don't cool well on air hsf dissipation.
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 07-24-2012, 09:36 PM   #4
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,264
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Talking Peliter s754 goodness

An update:

s754 Sempron 64 3100+
DFI NF4X
x1800XT 256mb
1024MB Corsair DDR - 1x512mb and 2x256mb
650w PSU

-6c at idle and 19c loaded.

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2448929
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	819112.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	92.9 KB
ID:	163913  
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 07-24-2012, 11:31 PM   #5
onewecallgod
#6 post whore
Senior Member
 
onewecallgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 8,489
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Guessing that's a 40x40 peltier?
__________________

'Pegging' is my middle name. - krone6
Offline  
Old 07-24-2012, 11:55 PM   #6
Maurice
Partial to LUNAR
Senior Member
 
Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Age: 37
Posts: 6,373
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Sweet I miss TEC cooling.
__________________
I7 2600K
Gigabyte z68xp-ud3p
G.SKILL Sniper Series(2 x 4GB)
Evga GTX 580 1.5gb
LG 32LN5300-UB
Corsair HX620 psu
ASUS Xonar D2
Logitech Z-5500's

"When you're born you get a ticket to the freak show. When you're born in America, you get a front row seat."
Offline  
Old 07-25-2012, 10:58 AM   #7
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,264
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by onewecallgod View Post
Guessing that's a 40x40 peltier?
It sure is! The largest TEC model I could find. 136w of cooling power, I discovered these older cpu's don't mind it much. The tec won't handle 1.8v on s754 though... I did try

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maurice View Post
Sweet I miss TEC cooling.
It's fun. Challenging to say the least.
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 07-25-2012, 03:41 PM   #8
Maurice
Partial to LUNAR
Senior Member
 
Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Age: 37
Posts: 6,373
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Ya, I remember having my 2.4C chip sitting at -4C and 3.6 at load. It was cool.
__________________
I7 2600K
Gigabyte z68xp-ud3p
G.SKILL Sniper Series(2 x 4GB)
Evga GTX 580 1.5gb
LG 32LN5300-UB
Corsair HX620 psu
ASUS Xonar D2
Logitech Z-5500's

"When you're born you get a ticket to the freak show. When you're born in America, you get a front row seat."
Offline  
Old 07-25-2012, 03:50 PM   #9
FX5200
Pengwhale
Senior Member
 
FX5200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,836
iTrader: 1 / 100%
I'm assuming that there aren't really any TEC's out there nowadays that'll handle a modern chip?
Offline  
Old 07-25-2012, 04:43 PM   #10
onewecallgod
#6 post whore
Senior Member
 
onewecallgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 8,489
iTrader: 25 / 100%
That might be true for AMD, but the modern iCore Intel chips should be cooler than the old Netburst stuff.
__________________

'Pegging' is my middle name. - krone6
Offline  
Old 07-25-2012, 04:46 PM   #11
FX5200
Pengwhale
Senior Member
 
FX5200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,836
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Aren't they just cooler in relation to performance gains?
Offline  
Old 07-25-2012, 09:37 PM   #12
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,264
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX5200 View Post
Aren't they just cooler in relation to performance gains?
Ahh, see the newer chips have more cache as well as faster architecture. BUT, the TDP differs depending on the stepping and voltage along with clock speed.

Clock speed without voltage increase does increase thermal output. What chilling helps to do is eliminate the need for more voltage considering most cpus respond better to a little chilling vs slamming home the voltage.

The main thing I like so far about working with these TECs is that they don't produce so much cold that you can't handle it. What I'm saying is that if a cpu has a cold bug, you can use TECs to the advantage with regulation to prevent freezing. I do this by adding or subtracting voltage.

Most of the Semprons I use are around 65w to 89w. Had some s754 2800+ running 2.9ghz+ today. Even with the near 100f ambient temp. This set up is in my shop which is not air conditioned. Just wish I could get some 65f weather.....
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 07-26-2012, 10:12 PM   #13
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,264
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Another s754 cpu Tec'ed

Ok I had to give a 2800+ palermo a go. This one went pretty far. Max speed on liquid was about 2900mhz. After applying the TEC, It hit 3089mhz as a max clock and bench WPrime just over 3ghz. This one chugged along pretty good.

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2451975
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	820037.png
Views:	147
Size:	126.7 KB
ID:	163919  
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking