EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Software Discussion > Networking and Security

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2003, 06:32 PM   #1
Null
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
Question How do I make a proxy server???

Is there a way I can buy and create my own proxy server? I really want to get my own, because I am tired of using slow, public proxy servers.

Do I have to buy a seperate computer for this? What software do I need to start?

thank you for your response.
Offline  
Old 11-29-2003, 06:48 PM   #2
ghostfacekillah
GT-R
Senior Member
 
ghostfacekillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Akron
Age: 28
Posts: 320
iTrader: 0 / 0%
i dont have much experience with proxies but here is some software that will allow you to run one on your computer http://www.youngzsoft.net/ccproxy/screenshot.htm and im sure somewhere in windows 2000 or xp pro there is one but you didnt specify your os
__________________

in Hollywoood they say there's no b'ness like show b'ness
In the hood they say, there's no b'ness like hoe b'ness:bigpimpin
Offline  
Old 11-29-2003, 06:55 PM   #3
Null
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
I am planning to buy a totally seperate computer that is devoted to work as a proxy.

Im getting a windows xp. MORE RESPONSES!!! THANK YOU!!!
Offline  
Old 11-29-2003, 06:56 PM   #4
ghostfacekillah
GT-R
Senior Member
 
ghostfacekillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Akron
Age: 28
Posts: 320
iTrader: 0 / 0%
if you are going to just get a whole new computer why dont you get it with windows 2000 server
__________________

in Hollywoood they say there's no b'ness like show b'ness
In the hood they say, there's no b'ness like hoe b'ness:bigpimpin
Offline  
Old 11-29-2003, 07:19 PM   #5
bloodmire
what, me worry??!!!
Senior Member
 
bloodmire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 42
Posts: 192
iTrader: 2 / 100%
why on earth would anyone want to use widnows server for proxy only capabilities? i making the assumption that ur buying a legit license for w2k server so wont it make sense to just go with linux?
www.clarkconnect.org

ps: why do u use public proxy servers anyways? is this for cloaking / anonymity?
Offline  
Old 11-29-2003, 07:47 PM   #6
Null
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
Yep, im getting it for anonymity.
Offline  
Old 11-29-2003, 11:25 PM   #7
Cheaper=Better
Schemer
Senior Member
 
Cheaper=Better's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: /dev/null
Age: 29
Posts: 772
iTrader: 4 / 100%
umm, ebay a 500mhz comp and install a good linux distro on it like Slackware or Debian
Offline  
Old 11-30-2003, 06:47 PM   #8
dygital
Mad Warranty Voider
Retired Staff
 
dygital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 30
Posts: 2,522
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Why would you spend >$199 for a WINDOWS license when linux (free) has the best proxy server software (free) ?!!!! That's shocking!


Download Debian at http://linuxiso.org. Install debian, if you can, ask ?'s is you got trouble. Then inside the root console, (su - to it), then type
Code:
apt-get install squid
That is to download Squid, the most powerful fastest proxy, and very configurable.


However, since you mentioned anonomity, which any system in your network wont offer, simply because of the nature of IP protocol. You can modify the headers, and there is addons to block *.doubleclick.net (etc...) but it will, WILL, speed up your internet.

PM if you need more help with debian, and squid, as I have created powerful proxies, and can help.
__________________
Main Rig:

Media Center:

Blog | Consulting | More Info
Offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 06:27 AM   #9
bloodmire
what, me worry??!!!
Senior Member
 
bloodmire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 42
Posts: 192
iTrader: 2 / 100%
u can buy a cheap celeron 400 comp with 128 mb + 4gb drive for like 60 bucks from www.compgeeks.com
Offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 02:29 PM   #10
NeXuS
.-<:=:(*):=:>-.
Senior Member
 
NeXuS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ohio
Age: 28
Posts: 1,202
iTrader: 2 / 100%
if the proxy box is on the same LAN/connection as the other computers in your home it will not help out with privacy at all, if people try to trace it it will simply trace back to the proxy insetad of your computer you're using, but still YOUR connection nonetheless.
__________________

Play with the penguin! (www.slackware.com, www.knoppix.net, www.kernel.org)
Offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 05:00 AM   #11
bloodmire
what, me worry??!!!
Senior Member
 
bloodmire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 42
Posts: 192
iTrader: 2 / 100%
very true. if ur ip can be displayed (and it will), people will know where its coming from....
Offline  
Old 12-08-2003, 11:08 AM   #12
Dantte
NO LIMIT
Senior Member
 
Dantte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 434
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally posted by dygital
Why would you spend >$199 for a WINDOWS license when linux (free) has the best proxy server software (free) ?!!!! That's shocking!


Download Debian at http://linuxiso.org. Install debian, if you can, ask ?'s is you got trouble. Then inside the root console, (su - to it), then type
Code:
apt-get install squid
That is to download Squid, the most powerful fastest proxy, and very configurable.


However, since you mentioned anonomity, which any system in your network wont offer, simply because of the nature of IP protocol. You can modify the headers, and there is addons to block *.doubleclick.net (etc...) but it will, WILL, speed up your internet.

PM if you need more help with debian, and squid, as I have created powerful proxies, and can help.
Linux is free, but a pain if you dont know what you are doing. Unlike W2K, Linux is not very user friendly.

If you still want to get a free copy of linux, and you need the manual, it will cost you roughly $100 at the store or several hours of printer time and alot of paper.

Dont get me wrong though, if you know what your doing, Linux is prolly your best route to go.
__________________
Offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 11:39 PM   #13
dygital
Mad Warranty Voider
Retired Staff
 
dygital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 30
Posts: 2,522
iTrader: 0 / 0%
If you have absolutely no experience with any form of an operating system, get it in the box

http://tldp.org for linux doc's, tutorials....
and you ALWAYS have google!

The great thing with linux is the support. Windows it's all closed source, and you have to wait till "they release the patch, SP, fix" in linux, you can issue the patch/fix (which there are minimal serious ones btw, unlike windows counterpart) MANY smart people can answer linux questions... like http://www.linuxquestions.org has thousands of answers (SEARCH before posting as usual).

So it wont be ALL that hard. Honestly, the hardest part in linux is understanding how File systems work, and partitioning and installing the bas OS. After that, it's a piece of cake.

Fine, windows will get you there... more "apps" for it yadda yadda... but linux is definately the BEST server OS compared to windows. That's a fact.
__________________
Main Rig:

Media Center:

Blog | Consulting | More Info
Offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 04:38 PM   #14
Bronco
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mississippi
Age: 30
Posts: 1
I've been reading through here and figured i could be some help

I have looked at everything that has been talked about on this page. ANd being a CCNA, I have noticed is that not every one on here really knows what they are talking about and that some people are giving misleading info.
first of all to make your self invisible from the internet all you need to do is put a router at the front of your network if that is all you want to do. all a proxy sever really does is storce cachements of webpages and makes them available for later use. Second of all I us linux and for a beginner it is emposible, I only use it because I like to make up my own coding, I also use windows and mac. For severs , the best operating system is windows semply becuase it is flexable. and for computer equipment don't go to http://www.compgeeks.com/ because it really doesn't have anything that will last vary long. if you are planing to by a new computer just get an off the couter computer and then find some good software to put on it.

I will try to find the link for the software I use and then post it later. If anyone want to know witch routers are best for these aplications let me know
Offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 11:03 PM   #15
dygital
Mad Warranty Voider
Retired Staff
 
dygital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 30
Posts: 2,522
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Re: I've been reading through here and figured i could be some help

Quote:
Originally posted by Bronco
I have looked at everything that has been talked about on this page. ANd being a CCNA, I have noticed is that not every one on here really knows what they are talking about and that some people are giving misleading info.
I see, so just because you are arrogent and see that some people arent quite as educated as you Mr. "CCNA". What was your score? What version of the test... 2.14? n00b... j/k
Quote:

first of all to make your self invisible from the internet all you need to do is put a router at the front of your network if that is all you want to do.


Wrong... sorta. It depends on what he means as "invisible". Sure you can 'hide' behind a router, but if there are subpoenas from authorites to ISPs, its VERY easy to trace back, minimal effort. If you mean put a router before, or at, the demarc point, it wont hide anything, it goes down to his provider. If he can find/hack a shell account, go through that, his identity will be easiER to conseal, but not guaranteed.

Quote:

all a proxy sever really does is storce cachements of webpages and makes them available for later use.

It re-routes (err, IS the path) the path for HTTP transmission. So ALL 100 computers on 10.0.0.0 network will go through the ONE address of 10.0.0.1.

Quote:

Second of all I us linux and for a beginner it is emposible, I only use it because I like to make up my own coding, I also use windows and mac.

Linux isnt hard... seriously, for a CCNA it should be like a 2500 router with more features . It really isnt that hard... if it IS that hard, how do you code on it -- no bash scripts dont count...

Quote:

For severs , the best operating system is windows semply becuase it is flexable.


HAHAHA! Riight! You should get your CCNA revoked for that statement. What does EVERY cisco router run on - UNIX! So if routers ran on Windows code, the internet would be in deep trouble.

Quote:

and for computer equipment don't go to http://www.compgeeks.com/ because it really doesn't have anything that will last vary long. if you are planing to by a new computer just get an off the couter computer and then find some good software to put on it.


Or BUILD IT! It's cheaper is no markup to pay. A rewarding experience when you know you know what is every component in that case, also makes troubleshooting [if there is any...] easier. Also, what is a "over the counter" computer... a pill, a creme for your flaming ***? No. Software doesnt make a computer faster than what it is. Why pay $800 extra retail when he can make a faster one for cheaper? I forgot, your rich....
[/i]
Quote:
[i]


I will try to find the link for the software I use and then post it later. If anyone want to know witch routers are best for these aplications let me know [/B]
Ok, what routers are the best for consealing identity, just wondering. Will you also give us the $1400 per router since you only have experience with Cisco 2500/2600 series [that's what all CCNAs are required to know...] Also, since routers obviously change the TCP packet data so you are untraceable . (sarcasm)

Go point your nose high at http://examnotes.com or something.

Hm, now tell what is wrong. I dont have a CCNA, but I still know more than a CCNP, MOUS[rofl], MCP, MCSE, A+, Net+, and Security+.

I am just too poor to study the new standards they want in these lame exams all about memory. Literally, if you memorize the book(s) you can pass. I conceptualize all my information so I can actually understand it, not just spit out crap that SOMEONE else said. I am also still in high school, and will get my certs after I graduate. (if that answers your reply of 'where are your certs than...?')
__________________
Main Rig:

Media Center:

Blog | Consulting | More Info

Last edited by dygital; 01-21-2004 at 11:10 PM.
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:20 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking